So it’s been nearly a year since our last post. A lot has happened in that time! I’ve been to Viet Nam, and Jo’s been to NZ. We’ve eaten plenty of Japanese food (tip: if in Sydney, Sushi Choo at the Ivy has $25 all you can eat sushi train between 5.30pm and 7.30pm weeknights, and its awesome!), cakes and Christmas goodies, given up boxing, taken up gymming and running and generally lived our lives.

So I thought, why not jump back on the horse and write a post? After a great dinner (at Sushi Choo) with JP, I felt inspired to write. Meanwhile, JP felt inspired to sit on the couch and watch TV… Nice to know I inspire the best in her!

I thought I’d share my fave quick dinner with the world, which is ridiculously easy but very tasty. It’s probably not the healthiest (puff pastry generally isn’t…), but delicious all the same. It’s best made with tomatoes that are super-ripe.

Cheat’s tomato tart

Tasty Tomato Tart

1. Mix together half to two-thirds of a packet of goat’s cheese with fresh thyme.
2. Spread cheese on 1 sheet of puff pastry, leaving a 1cm border without cheese around the outside.
3. Top the goat’s cheese with thin slices of ripe tomato, halved black olives, fresh cracked black pepper and a drizzle of olive oil
4. Bake in a slow oven until tomatoes have softened and pastry is puffed.
5. Serve with caramelised onion, green salad and a glass of pinot.

Caramelised onion

1. Slice an onion into quarters, then each quarter into thirds.
2. Melt a heaped teaspoon of butter with a slosh of olive oil in a non-stick pan (I love my Scanpan!!).
3. Add onions, shake about a tablespoon of raw sugar over the top and add a slosh of sweet balsamic.
4. Cook on medium heat, stirring frequently, until onions soften and sugar caramelises.
5. Put on top of cheat’s tart.
6. Enjoy!

I hope you enjoy my quick tart!

Happy cooking,
Lyndal

