Last Sunday, I was supposed to be doing my research thesis for my Masters degree.  I was supposed to bake a cake containing dates to feature on my friend Katie’s blog (check out her Sweet Rustic blog here). I was also supposed to do a budget for the next 12 months.

Instead, the jar of dates I had mysteriously disappeared, my budget is boring and I’m procrastinating writing my thesis.  Therefore, I decided to make stroganoff and write about it.  Sound good?  Did to me too!

Slow-cooked Sunday Stroganoff

500g gravy beef, chopped into 2cm chunks
1/2 cup plain flour, seasoned with freshly ground black pepper and salt
1Tbsp smoked paprika
1 onion, in wedges
1 can crushed tomatoes (I love the rich Ardmona brand ones)
1 cup beef stock
1 bay leaf
1Tbsp sweet paprika (although I don’t usually measure this – I usually just dump a whole heap in)
1 cup button mushrooms, quartered
1 red capsicum, sliced
A large dollop of sour cream (I use light sour cream, but use regular for a creamier result)
Garlic mashed potato or pasta and steamed broccolini, to serve

Coat steak in flour, salt, pepper and smoked paprika, then sear meat in a hot fry pan until just browned.

Add steak, tomatoes, onion, stock, bay leaf and paprika to slow cooker.  Cook on low setting for 6-8 hours, stirring every hour or so (note: if the sauce looks too thin at any point, add a little more stock, and some tomato paste, if it looks too diluted).

45min prior to serving, stir through mushrooms and capsicum.  Once they are cooked, stir through sour cream just prior to serving.

Too easy!

You can add hot paprika if you’d like an extra kick, although traditional stroganoff is mild.  You can also add garlic to the cooker at the first stage, but I prefer to serve with:

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

1 medium potato for every person – tonight I’m using Dutch cream variety
1 large clove of garlic for every 2 potatoes
Approx 1 heaped teaspoon butter or marg per 2 potatoes
A splash of milk (or a blob of Philly Cream for Cooking, if you’re feeling naughty) – just enough to
ensure a creamy consistency
Freshly cracked black pepper

Peel spuds and boil until very soft

Use a potato ricer (or a masher or fork, but a ricer gives a better consistency, and is easier) to finely mash potatoes.

Add garlic, crushed, marg or butter and pepper.  Add enough milk to make the mixture creamy and combine with a fork.

This makes spuds that taste delicious with any type of red meat, including topping a shepherd’s pie 🙂

The verdict?

Cheers,

Lyn 😀

