Ok, this was supposed to go in my monthly baking round-up, but due to my habit of sharing the resulting baking, there has been excessive demand for the recipe (alright, so 3 people asked for it, but that’s 3 WHOLE people who liked my baking!). So, you asked for it…

The to-do list for today was awfully long, but some how baking always seems to make it to the top of the list and scrubbing the bathroom the bottom. It’s just one of those things I can’t explain.

I really felt like making bread today, and I found a recipe for pumpkin bread. Unfortunately, pumpkin bread appears to fall into the same category as banana bread, in that it’s not really bread at all, and involves none of the fun stuff, like kneading and rising, etc.

But, I had pumpkin, and pumpkin and chocolate really did sound like an awesome combo, so I forged ahead anyway.

Pumpkin loaf and/or muffins (recipe adapted from The Fresh Loaf)

The finished product

330g brown sugar
115g softened butter
350g pumpkin puree
3 eggs
1.5 tsp all spice
1/2 tsp salt
450g plain flour
2 Tbsp baking powder
2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 170°C fan forced. Line a loaf tin with baking paper, o muffin tins with paper cases.

Beat pumpkin, butter, brown sugar and eggs together in a large bowl. Sift in dry ingredients except chocolate. Mix until just combined, then stir in chocolate. (Don’t just have the chocolate chips sitting on the bench where you pick at them until they’re nearly all gone, and then forget to put them in. That would be wrong.)

Before I realised I'd forgotten the chocolate chips

Fill your tins with mix. I had enough mixture for one small loaf tin and 6 muffins.

Ice-cream scoops of awesomeness

Bake in the middle of the oven for 20 mins for muffins and 50 mins for a loaf. Cool in the tin for 10 mins and then transfer to a wire rack to cool. If you’re a glutten, spread with butter while still warm…

The pumpkin gives an appealing orange tinge to the loaf - as if it's been spending too much time at the tanning salon like Paris Hilton

But it’s equally good without extra butter (keeping in mind that this is in fact cake, and you would never spread butter on cake. Would you?).

Jx

