You fat bastard, you fat bastard, you ate all the pies! Well, technically, I ate the pie, so I guess I’m a fat bastard. But Lyndal made me do it! And is it technically a pie if it doesn’t have any pastry?

Because Lyndal had been really busy, the contents of my fridge had altered since I originally emailed her last week, which earned me this comment:

Why did you eat your eggplant?!  You could have had great vego pasta. But not for you, this week anyway!

Because I had bought a cauliflower solely because it was on special, she suggested a soup that I’m going to make later in the week, Cauliflower and Bacon (I don’t know if I like cauliflower soup – stay tuned for that one).

I did suggest a sausage and snowpea pizza, but that idea was rightfully ignored. So, today’s choice is Chicken and Mushroom Mountain Bread Pie.

Poach chicken thighs in stock with crushed garlic, diced onion and any herbs you have lying around (thyme is great).  When cooked, shred with a fork.

Chicken a-poaching

Make up a basic white sauce by placing the same quantities of white flour and marg (I use about 1Tbsp each) in a microwave dish and melt together.  Add 1 cup or so of skim milk and whisk up.  Then cook mixture in 30min intervals, whisking in between intervals until thick.  Stir in fresh pepper and a spoonful of seed mustard.

(The thought of white sauce in the microwave scared me, so I just used the saucepan that I’d poached the chicken in, and did it the old fashioned way.)

Stir through the chicken and if you have them, quartered mushies.

Grease a large muffin tray and line the cups with 2-3 layers of mountain bread, with a spray of oil in between each layer.  Bake in a hot oven (around 200°C fan-forced) for a few mins until crisp.  Remove from heat and turn oven down to moderate.

Blind-baked mountain bread


Fill cups with chicken mixture and top with just a little cheese, and bake for a couple of mins until cheese is melted and chicken is heated through.

I had a bit of white sauce left over, so I added in a little bit more cheese and made it into a cheese sauce to go with my steamed vege. I’m sure Pak Choy with mustard and cheese sauce is enjoyed all over the world.

Non-traditional pie and vege

Verdict? Lyndal has served up another winner! The pie case was lovely and crispy around the edges and lovely and soggy in the middle, just how a pie should be. There was a bit too much chicken to fit in the case, but I took care of that pretty quickly – poaching it in the onion and garlic made it extra tasty.

So, I guess, maybe, technically, since there was no pastry, I’m not a fat bastard? (This time, anyway.)

Jx

Poach chicken thighs in stock with crushed garlic, diced onion and any herbs you have lying around (thyme is great).  When cooked, shred with a fork.
Make up a basic white sauce by placing the same quantities of white flour and marg (I use about 1Tbsp each) in a microwave dish and melt together.  Add 1 cup or so of skim milk and whisk up.  Then cook mixture in 30min intervals, whisking in between intervals until thick.  Stir in fresh pepper and a spoonful of seed mustard.
Stir through the chicken and if you have them, quartered mushies.
Grease a large muffin tray and line the cups with 2-3 layers of mountain bread, with a spray of oil in between each layer.  Bake in a hot oven for a few mins until crisp.  Remove from heat and turn over down to moderate.
Fill cups with chicken mixture and top with just a little cheese, and bake for a couple of mins until cheese is melted and chicken is heated through.
Serve with steamed beans/zucchini/cauli or all 3!
