While that could in fact be an imitation of me eating, this time it’s a reflection of what I’m eating: turkey mince, to be exact.

Why am I eating turkey mince, I hear you ask? Well, remember the other week when I spent the grocery money on DVDs of Supernatural and consequently had to eat beans as that’s all I had in the cupboard? Yeah? This month is worse. This month I got a bill from the tax department of a country I don’t even live in. For rather a lot of money. Turkey mince is half the price of beef mince. Comprende?

Anyway, after delving in to the realms of turkey mince stirfry (delicious, BTW – Nikla, I owe you an apology for my years of silent scoffing at the turkey mince stirfry), I decide I need more turkey mince ideas (do you think if I say turkey mince often enough, it’ll become one word? Turkeymince?). Anyway, I do what any self-respecting uninspired cook would do – reach out to my friendly neighbourhood dinner advisor, who comes back with two delicious ideas for me.

Recipe numero unoSan Choy Bou

A recipe I usually make with pork mince, but it should be equally good with turkey, I think.

500g turkey mince
Grated carrot and zucchini (I put grated carrot and zucchini in every mince dish I make – can you tell?!  Good job you have them both, Jo!)
1/2 red capsicum, finely diced
Handful of mushies, chopped finely
1 onion, finely diced
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 (heaped) tsp minced ginger
A slosh of kecap manis – enough to just turn the mince a darker shade of brown (if you don’t have any use soy sauce and brown sugar, heated until it’s warm and thick)
About a Tbsp of hot sweet chilli sauce (the brand I used has a label written in Thai and it’s a bright orange-red and has a kick)
Iceberg lettuce cups

1.  Fry onion in a little oil, and when almost cooked add garlic and ginger.
2.  Add turkey mince, carrot and zucchini and cook until cooked through.
3.  Add capsicum and mushies.
4.  Add sauces and stir through.
5. Serve in iceberg lettuce leaves

While that sounds pretty awesome, it was recipe dos that really got my mouth watering: Thai Turkey Noodle Burgers.

My favourite chicken mince recipe would work well with turkey mince I think.

Take 1 packet of 2min noodles for each 250g of mince.  Cook up the noodles without the seasoning.  Drain the noodles and add to the turkey mince with 1/2 an onion, finely diced, some grated carrot and zucchini and an egg.  If you like plainer patties, just add in the noodle flavour sachet (these taste great if you serve with really flavourful, spicy stir fry, or with some sweet chilli dipping sauce and a crisp green salad).

If you want more flavour, add 1Tbsp sweet chilli sauce (or some chilli flakes, if you like it hot).  I’m a big fan of coriander, so I would add in 1Tbsp chopped fresh coriander in here (but I know you don’t like it much). Mix it all up until well combined.

Form into patties and roll in plain flour.  Either fry in a frying pan with a spray of oil, turning once, or grill under a medium grill for about 5min each time. Personally I prefer frying them as the noodles crunch up and taste fantastic.

After comparing the proportions of mince to noodles, I decide to only use half what Lyndal suggested – big call, I know. And because turkey mince is a lot moister than chicken mince, I leave out the egg, too. Sweet chilli sauce and some hot ground chilli are my seasonings of choice, and the resulting mixture is, well, it’s pretty unappetising, to be honest.

However, I put my faith in the food Gods, and stick the patties in the fridge for the time it takes to go for a half hour walk (in case you were wondering, that’s about 45 mins – hey, it takes time to piss around putting on trackpants and choosing the right tunes!).

I’m not a grillin’ kind of girl, so I go the trusty frypan route. The patties still don’t look that fab, but the smell? The smell is all that and a bag of chips!

Yeah, they look dodge. But how awesome looking is my awesome frypan?

It takes a bit longer than Lyn’s specified 5mins per side, but that might be because my awesome frypan works best on a low heat.

That's not burned, it's just well done!

The patties are nearly ready, and I have a terrible choice to make – sweet chilli sauce or spicy red tomato? Throwing caution to the wind I decide to use both. Yes, that’s right, sauce on the top AND the bottom. Devilish, I know.

I also make the bold choice to add pineapple to my Thai Turkey Noodle Burger. Authentic? Well, I don’t think there’s much authentic about this meal, and what’s a burger without pineapple? (I did think that beetroot might be pushing it though.)

The finished product

So, how does it taste? Unsurprisingly, Lyndal’s served up a winner once again. This is possibly the nicest burger I’ve had in ages. Which is just as well really, as I have leftovers for dinner tomorrow. (I do think the pineapple gave it an edge though…)

Happy eatin’

Jx

