Let me set the scene…

Last weekend I was sick.  Couldn’t get out of bed sick.  It was awful.  However I promised to bake the wonderful Matt some banana bread for his breakfast this week.  Being sick, I refrained from doing this (snot in the batter – how delightful!).  So I promised on Monday night that I would bake it on Tuesday evening.  I even took the bananas out of the freezer early and everything.  I was all set.  Until…

My lovely Dad called.  “I’ll be in your neck of the woods tomorrow afternoon – want to have coffee?”  Of course I do!  My beloved parents live 2 hrs away, so I don’t see them much (although spare a though from Jo – she lives in a different country to her folks, who are awesome!), so I couldn’t miss an opportunity to catch up.

So that coffee?  Never really happened.  Instead Dad, his apprentice and another work colleague were having drinks.  Half price drinks – don’t mind of I do!  Especially when I don’t have to pay.  Throw in a recently-arrived gal pal from the other side of the country and you’ve got yourself a ready-made cocktail party.

Needless to say, no banana bread for Matty on Wednesday morning!  Much moping ensued.

Lesson 1 – don’t make promises you can’t keep!

So it’s now Wednesday night, and I have just pulled out a most delicious smelling baked good from my trusty oven.  I have a fail-proof banana bread recipe that I always use (it’s low fat too!), however I always add a bit of this (eg nuts) and a bit of that (eg berries).  I reckon tonight, I’m on a winner.  My ‘bits’ tonight – walnuts and passionfruit.

Matt’s Fave Banana Bread

1 3/4 cups SR flour (substitute 1/2 for wholemeal SR if you want to boost the fibre)
1/4 cup plain flour
1 tsp cinnamon
2/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 medium, overripe bananas, mashed well
2 eggs, lightly whisked
50g butter, melted and cooled (use marg if you want to have healthier fats)
½ cup skim milk

Optional extras:

Berries (frozen and fresh both work)
Walnuts, hazelnuts, pecans or almonds
Choc chips (for a naughty version)
Rolled oats or muesli on top
Chopped dried apricots
–        Sift flours and cinnamon and stir in brown sugar.  Make a well and set aside
–        Mix wet ingredients together until well combined
–        Stir wet and dry ingredients together until almost combined.  Add extras and finish combining
–        Bake in a greased loaf tin in a moderate oven until it springs back when touched (about 40-50min)
–        Eat warm, cold or toasted

Lesson 2 – Ovens make a very cold flat slightly warmer

The really lovely thing about baking is that on nights when the mercury is in the single figures, the oven keeps at least part of our very cold little flat toasty warm.  Plus the smell is devine!

So back to my story… Since failing to make said banana bread the day before, Matt has taken any available opportunity to make me feel bad about it.  However my 3rd lesson…

Lesson 3 – The promise of banana bread makes everything OK

Try this during a fight with your partner/parents/housemate – who can stay mad when you have made such delicious baked goods?  Especially when it’s not so bad for you!

So I get a big hug as I pull the banana bread out, and here’s the finished product:

Delicious supper tonight!  I cut 2 generous slices and hand over to Matt… The verdict?

Lesson 4 – Passionfruit is yummy in banana bread! and

Lesson 5 – Everything tastes better when it’s cooked with love!

Until next time, happy baking!

Lyndal 🙂

